

## **EU Energy Security Conference 2015**

Tuesday 5 May 2015

VMA1, Van Maerlant Building, Committee of the Regions, Rue Van Maerlant 2, Brussels 1040

8.30-9.00 am	Registration and welcome coffee
9.00-9.45 am	Opening session
	Opening remarks:  Vítor Caldeira  President of the European Court of Auditors
	<u>Keynote speaker:</u> Maroš Šefčovič  Vice-President for Energy Union, European Commission
	<u>Chair:</u> <u>Szabolcs Fazakas</u> Reporting Member for the 'EU Assistance to Ukraine' audit, European Court of Auditors

Plenary: Obstacles to the completion of the internal energy market

What are the main obstacles to the completion of the internal energy market, and how can these be overcome?

Has EU financing facilitated the development of infrastructure necessary for a fully functioning internal energy market?

**Leigh Hancher** 

**European Court of Auditors** 

International Energy Agency

Erki Must

Professor of European Law, University of Tilburg

Task Leader for the 'Security of Energy Supply' audit,

Head of Gas, Coal and Electricity Markets division,

Speakers:

9.45-10.45 am

**Alberto Pototschnig** 

Director of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators

Aleksandra Gawlikowska-Fyk Head of the Energy Project,

Polish Institute of International Affairs

Polish In Chair:

**Phil Wynn Owen** 

Reporting Member for the 'Security of Energy Supply' audit, European Court of Auditors

10.45-11.00 am Coffee break

11.00-12.00 pm Plenary: Ukraine's key role in European energy supply as a major transit route

What are the major issues involved in the ongoing transition of Ukraine?

How may the upcoming transformations in Ukraine interact with its transit role?

Speakers:

Péter Balás

Head of the Support Group for Ukraine,

**European Commission** 

**Francis Joret** 

Head of the Pre-Accession and Neighbourhood Policies Unit,

**European Court of Auditors** 

Chair:

Szabolcs Fazakas

Reporting Member for the 'EU Assistance to Ukraine' audit, European Court of Auditors

12.00-12.30 pm Closing session

Main speaker:

**Gerassimos Thomas** 

Deputy Director-General of DG Energy, European Commission

Closing remarks:

**Phil Wynn Owen** 

Member of the European Court of Auditors

12.30 pm Standing lunch / Close